A woodlouse by any other name…

Playing in the garden earlier, the under gardener found one of the biggest woodlice that I’ve seen in a long time. Being only 20 months old, she alerted me to her find by shouting, “Mammy, mammy, a spider! A spider!” Which caused her older cousin to sprint as fast as he could in the opposite direction.

I’ve always had a soft spot for woodlice with their little grey bodies, busy legs and inquisitive feelers, and I tried keeping one as a pet when I was four or five years old. I remember keeping it in one of my little sister’s wet wipe containers, and suspecting that my older sister had killed it because she was afraid of insects when in reality it was probably the chemicals they used in baby wipes in the 1990s.

I think my favourite thing about them though is that there are so many different names for woodlice – almost everyone seems to have grown up calling a woodlouse a different name depending on where they come from. In Gwent where I grew up, we called them granny granchers or granny greys, further down the valley, my friend from Neath called them piggywigs, and my Welsh-speaking friends have called them mochyn y coed (tree pigs) or pryf y lludw (ash worms), while my Irish friend grew up calling them slaters. I was a bit disappointed that my boyfriend just called them woodlice growing up!

Where did you grow up and what names did you call the humble woodlouse?

This entry was posted in Mini Beasts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A woodlouse by any other name…

  1. Meg says:

    I had to click and read because I had to know what in the world a woodlouse is. I had some sort of gigantic flea monstrosity in mind. So to answer your question…. this is a “roly poly” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Meg says:

    I think it’s the general term in the States. I could be wrong. At least it is here in North Carolina .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

